ITP Sites:   ITP Site|TechBlog|TechHub in schools|NZ CloudCode|All Tech Events|Software Escrow NZ

ITP Techblog

Brought to you by IT Professionals NZ
« Back to Conferences

Excellence in IT Awards finalists announced

Paul Brislen, Editor. 27 June 2016, 9:54 am

The 2016 New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards are sector-wide awards recognising the individuals and teams who have truly excelled in the tech industry. While other awards focus on companies and ven- dors, the Excellence in IT Awards exclusively celebrates our people.

The Excellence Awards are a collaboration of ten of New Zealand's leading tech associations, to create a truly sector-wide awards programme. Partners include the Institute of IT Professionals, TUANZ, Health Informatics NZ, itSMF NZ, NZ Software Association, GOVIS, Project Management Institute, InternetNZ, NZRise and the NZ Open Source Society.

A team of judges have selected the finalists in each category, and they are:

IT Project Excellence Award

In partnership with Project Management Institute of NZ  

  • Antoon Moonen, AM Consultancy Limited
  • Information Services Group, Whanganui District Council 
  • Nick Kumarich, NZME

Excellence in Software

In partnership with the NZ Software Association 

  • Fulton Hogan Digital Team
  • Jonny McKenzie, Possboss HQ
  • Simon Baker, CricHQ 

Excellence in Health Informatics

In partnership with Health Informatics NZ 

  • Dr David Hay, Orion Health 
  • David Ryan, Waitemata DHB
  • Homecare Medical (National Telehealth Service Project), Spark

 Excellence in IT Education

In partnership with CITRENZ 

  • DIGIT Team: Temakwan Fenton-Coyne, Luke Tomes & Nigel Studdart, North Tec
  • Michael Trengrove, Code Club Aotearoa
  • Rohan Wakefield, Enspiral Dev Academy

 Excellence in Public Sector IT

In partnership with GOVIS 

  • Product Team 
  • Information Services Group, Whanganui District Council
  • Jeremy Hughes, Company-X

Excellence in IT Service Management

In partnership with itSMF

  • Christchurch City Council Service Desk
  • MYOB IT Services team
  • IT Services Group (ISG) Canterbury District Health Board

 Young IT Professional of the Year

In partnership with NZRise

  • Ilya Zharenikov, Designer Technology Ltd 
  • Leah Langdale, Fulton Hogan
  • Thomas Mitchell, Hunchbuzz 

 New Zealand IT Professional of the Year

In partnership with the Institute of IT Professionals NZ 

  • Michael Trengrove, Code Club Aotearoa
  • Murray Wills, Maxsys
  • Victoria Maclennan, Optimal HQ


The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 12th July 2016, during the ITx 2016 tech mega- conference in Wellington. Tickets are available for both the gala dinner and the conference as a whole.

More information about the finalists and the awards is at

Congratulations to the finalists who were chosen from a strong field. Finalists will be interviewed by the judging panels on July 4 and the winners will announced at the NZ Excellence in IT Awards gala dinner at ITx 2016 on July 12, 2016.


You must be logged in in order to post comments. Log In

Web Development by The Logic Studio