ITP Techblog

Brought to you by IT Professionals NZ
« Back to Home

New minister of tech for a new government

Paul Brislen, Editor. 02 November 2020, 2:06 pm

The new Cabinet has been announced with a few changes in personnel in the ICT space.

Kris Faafoi loses the communications portfolio but picks up Justice (and presumably its role in overseeing the copyright tribunal as well as privacy), Chris Hipkins becomes Minister for Public Service  and Grant Robertson Minister for Infrastructure.

But it is David Clark who returns to Cabinet and the roles of Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Minister for SOEs, Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications who will have most to do with the tech sector in this government.

Clark, a Presbyterian minister, resigned from his role as Minister of Health in July following a series of gaffs including going mountain biking during Level 4 lockdown, taking his family to the beach and attracting widespread media condemnation for comments made about the Director General of Health Dr Ashley Bloomfield while Bloomfield stood at his side.

Clark was returned to his Dunedin North seat at the election with an increased majority, seeing off rival candidate Michael Woodhouse by more than 13,000 votes.

Other ministers of note:

Grant Robertson - Minister for Infrastructure

Megan Woods - Minister for Research, Science and Innovation

Chris Hipkins - Minister for Public Service

Andrew Little - Minister for GCSB/SIS

Nanaia Mahuta - Minister of Local Government

Damien O'Connor - Minister for Trade and Export Growth

Stuart Nash - Minister for Economic and Regional Development, Minister for Small Business

Peeni Henare - Minister of Defence

Jan Tinetti - Minister of Internal Affairs

Kris Faafoi - Minister of Justice.


Edit: Thanks to reader Paula Browning for pointing out the Ministry of Justice looks after the copyright tribunal but not the copyright legislation. 


You must be logged in in order to post comments. Log In

Web Development by The Logic Studio