ITP Techblog

Brought to you by IT Professionals NZ
« Back to Home

Virtual Hi Tech finals

Sarah Putt, Contributor. 31 March 2020, 6:20 pm

For the first time the announcement of who has made it into the Hi Tech Awards this year was made entirely online. This evening emcee David Downs announced the finalists in each category to a room filled with, well, probably just a camera. Covid-19 forcing another event into the virtual realm.

I tuned in just after 5pm and felt a sense of anticipation each time the categories were called and cheered for the companies and organisations that made it to the finals. Like most Awards, entering the Hi Techs can be quite an undertaking, so being named a finalist can feel like a mix of joy and relief.

A couple of things struck me this year. One is that we actually have New Zealand companies that are working in the space industry. I know RocketLab has been around a while, but it still strikes me as an amazing thing to have burgeoning space industry in Aotearoa. The second is that the finalists work across a range of sectors - finance, education, health and agriculture, to name a few. Tech in New Zealand really has become a broad church. 

Here is a list of all the finalists. The winners in each category were due to be announced on 22 May at the annual gala dinner but given current circumstances that has yet to be confirmed.

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

● Crimson Education

● ezyVet

● Fingermark

● Harmoney

● Serko

● Spidertracks

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

● Fuel 50


● RedShield

● Taska Prosthetics

● Tradify

NZ Growth Capital Partners Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

● Dawn Aerospace

● Emergency Q

● FileInvite

● Joyous

IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award

● Janene Crossan

● Michelle Dickinson

● Bruce Gordon

● Mitchell Pham

● Serge van Dam

Callaghan Innovation Maori Hi-Tech Company of the Year

● Emergency Q

● Kiwa Digital

● NZ Trade Group

● Plink Software

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution Award

● Orbica

● PaySauce

● Raygun

● RedShield

● Rocos

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

● Beca

● Blackhawk

● Darkscope International

● Emergency Q

● Orbica

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award

● Dawn Aerospace


● Manta5

● Shotover Camera Systems

● Tectonus

Paymark Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company

● Humanitix


NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector

● BBC Technologies

● Compac

● PaySauce

● Regen

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

● Jamie Beaton

● Ezel Kokcu

● Michael Lovegrove

● Terry Miller

● Craig Piggott

● Stefan Powell

● Sian Simpson

● Ian White

Most Innovative Deep Tech Solution

● ArcActive

● Mint Innovation

● Tectonus

ATEED Most Innovative Hi-Tech Creative Technology Solution


● Umajin

● Weta Workshop

Visa Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good


● Malaghan Institute

● Precision Driven Health



You must be logged in in order to post comments. Log In

Web Development by The Logic Studio